Motograter’s Desolation

Written By: Melissa Clark

Fourteen years and four vocalists later, Motograter is releasing their second studio album. Desolation will be released on August 11, 2017 featuring new lead singer, James Anthony Legion, who joined the band in early 2015. The band is signed with David Ellefson of Megadeth’s, EMP Records. Ivan Moody of Five Finger Death Punch was their vocalist when Motograter was released in 2003. Given that, Legion had some pretty big shoes to fill with this album. Legion brings a different vocal style to their Nu-Metal sound.



            James Anthony Legion: Vocals

            Matthew “Nuke” Nunes: Guitar

            Jesse Stamper: Guitar

            Mylon Guy: Bass

            Noah “Shark” Robertson: Drums

            Dustin “Skunk” Anderson: Motograter


Fans of Motograter will be pleased to know the band is continuing it’s use of their homemade instrument, the motograter, in this album. Its made out of industrial cable and guitar pieces, giving it a really cool and unique bass sound. Desolation features heavy bass tones throughout the album.


Track List:

  • Parasite
  • Dorian
  • Victim
  • Paragon
  • Bleeding Through
  • Misanthropical
  • Daggers
  • Portrait of Decay
  • Locust
  • Rise
  • Shadows


“Parasite,” the first track, is also the second single that has been released from the album. The tone set in this track continues through almost all of the songs on the album. It almost serves as an introduction to Legion’s dark and brooding vocals, setting the stage for him and allowing his vocal range and style to be showcased.


The fourth track, “Paragon,” seems to kick it up a notch. Starting out with a heavy bass line and gutteral scream from within it has a different sound than what you get in the beginning. It’s exciting and loud.


The last song, “Shadows,” ends the album on a darkly romantic note. Listeners will be singing, “Will you stay with me?”, through the chorus. Legion’s voice almost takes on a creepy Depeche Mode like tone and it leaves you wanting more.


Desolation gets a rating of 3 out of 5. It wasn’t horrible but it feels boring and monotonous at times. There seems to be a lack of connection between Legion’s vocals and the sound of the band. It isn’t as good as their first album but it’s also completely different.

About Side Stage Magazine 2815 Articles
Side Stage Magazine, providing you all the latest in music news, reviews, and interviews.