Killset’s S.T.F.U.

Written By: Melissa Clark

When it comes to New Metal, there are a plethora of bands that fall into that category. Music coming from that angle has to have an edge, something that holds them above the rest. KillSET, out of Southern California, is one of those bands attempting to put their own stamp on a genre run by cookie cutter formulas. Their take on this genre includes melody and chaos topped off with a little taste of Rap core. S.T.F.U. is their second studio album and was released on June 23, 2017 under Scratched Records. Produced by Eddie Wohl (Fuel, Smile Empty Soul, ill Nino, 36 Crazyfists) who also produced their first album Know Your Killer.

Comprised of former ARCM and Choleric members, KillSET is Luca (Vocals), Dave Comer (Guitars), Mark Baker (Bass), James “Jas” Dillon (Drums).

S.T.F.U. Track List:

  1. Get Up
  2. Bully
  3. Killers in the Pit
  4. Tomorrow
  5. Broken Angel
  6. Jump
  7. How Dare You
  8. Animal
  9. Not a Love Story
  10. Don’t Let Me Die

The album has a few notable tracks. Track 3 was the first to stand out. The crowd friendly, first single that was released, “Killers in the Pit”. The blend of chaos and melody will get people moving and ready for the next song.

Track 6 on the album was really a treat. “Jump” is a parody of the ’90s Kriss Kross hit. The lyrics are changed up a bit and the beat is given a fresh metal sound. It’s a catchy sound. Watch their hilarious video for the song below.

The album ends with “Don’t Let Me Die”. Luca’s melodic vocals and loud screams are featured in the track. As he pleads for the listener to help him because he’s fallen, the drums and guitar keep pulling him back into an angry scream. A good way to end the album as it makes the listener ready to continue the beat and hit play again.

For the fans of New Metal and Rapcore, this will be an enjoyable album. The lyrics do tend to get repetitive and lack depth. The vocals tend to overpower the instruments, neglecting the talent shown. Overall it is decent for the genre and gets a rating of 4. KillSET does succeed in putting their own spin on an otherwise boring music market.

About Side Stage Magazine 2794 Articles

Side Stage Magazine, providing you all the latest in music news, reviews, and interviews.